Manchester’s first Football Writing Festival will take place over a week in September
Brass Tacks | Punk Rock documentary
There is change in the wind for the Cornerhouse. Manchester’s beloved cinema. Say hello to HOME.
St Mary’s Church, Mulberry Street, Manchester in 1930s
"The Hidden Gem" opened in 1794 It was almost gone for good as a consequence of some major rebuilding and refurbishment works done in 1833 that were ordered by Father Henry Gillow. The works were not overseen by a master builder.
Just two years later in August 1835 the entire roof collapsed causing massive damage to the interior of the church.
The search began for a new site for the church but a massive outbreak of Cholera in Manchester and Father Gillow’s own death from typhus in 1837 complicated the search and so it was decided to rebuild St Mary’s on the same site.
Same spot on google maps
New Order | Thieves Like Us | Live at The Haçienda 1983
The Manchester band spots the old parts of Manchester in this video.
This arial photograph shows that particular incarnation of Hulme in around 1970, when the notorious ‘crescent’ blocks were just being completed. It was these properties, and much of the subseqent low-rise developments, which were cleared in the 1990s during the City Challenge programme.